top of page
Search
  • csmarriage

Flights are booked - next step, clothing!

"But you're always cold, Caroline! How will you cope in Antarctica?". I've heard this from a

number of people when I've told them of my plans and it's very fair point. My flights are booked and I've started making contact for some corporate sponsorship so the next thing to think about is what I need to take - especially to stay warm and dry.

Me and my children in hats and warm coats
Dressing for winter with the kids

Temperatures


Although Antarctica can obviously be very cold, we'll not be straying too far inland. March is still the end of the summer period and with a peak temperature of 18.3C recorded at the Esperanzo base on the tip of the peninsular in February 2020 it could be quite pleasant. However, I'm expecting to be around 0-3C, potentially unpredictable, and I've been warned that the wind chill could also add a significant colder feel to the air. The first few days will be in Southern Argentina will probably be similar temperatures to the UK at the moment with average temperatures in March around 5-11C. I've also planned in day in Buenos Aries on the way home and there temperatures will be up to the mid 20s so I won't need to worry there. Warm and dry! So with all that in mind layers seem to be the order of the day. I've been doing some research into base layers - I've got a number and variety of tops and jumpers I've accumulated over the years but the recommended fabric seems to be merino wool. This is apparently best for warmth and also has benefits of odour control so you can wear for more days and keep the packing light (not something I'm generally known for either, if I'm being honest). I'm not desperately keen to spend lots of money on something new if I don't have to so have resort back to my old favourite: ebay. Over the last year or two I've been trying to buy more clothes second hand and have picked up a few favourites that way. Yes it can be a bit hit and miss, and I do have a few things sitting in a "to be relisted" pile, but I like that this is keeping perfectly good clothes out of landfill, giving a new lease of life to things that are no longer suitable for the original owner, and, although I don't consider myself as prolific a clothes buyer as some, does mean that there are a few fewer items being manufactured and consuming the planet's resources. So I'll be keeping my eye out for a couple of merino wool bits to add to my stash and possibly a fleece top but other than that I think I can probably make do with what I've already got for warmth.

The next challenge is waterproofing. Apparently sitting on the zodiacs is likely to result in a wet bottom so waterproof trousers are a necessity. Again, I've got some that I've had for a number of years as well some ski salopettes that are similarly ancient. My plan is to either get the children to spray me with the garden hose or to sit in the bath and see if I get wet - based on that I'll know whether I need new ones. I'll also need some decent gloves which are both warm and waterproof. Again layers are apparently the trick here so I did splash out on some "liner gloves" this weekend - so need now to find some waterproof gloves that I can wear over the top and hopefully still allow me enough dexterity to work a camera.

Sunglasses

The final, and possibly most important thing is eye protection. As a prescription-glasses-but-not-contacts wearer I have some prescription sunglasses but they are not polarizing and don't have the side protection that is needed to stop the UV sneaking in round the sides. The options seem to be either to find some "fit over" sunglasses that go over my normal ones - not generally available on the high street but I've found some online that may be worth trying, go with ski googles which have the advantage of keeping your face warm but may be a bit much for just going outside, or to get a pair of wrap around Oakleys or similar with prescription lenses (which is definitely the most expensive option). I've still got a few weeks before I'd have to order prescription ones so will keep doing some research and potentially order the fit overs to try. If you've got any other recommendations or things I haven't thought of then please do drop me a line!


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page