top of page
Search
  • csmarriage

Progressing things

















So it's been a busy few days starting to get things off the ground. Following the call with Cameron at Explorer's Passage I've been looking at the logistics which ended up with a visit to Trailfinders yesterday to discuss flights etc. It looks like the best way is going to be to fly to Buenos Aries and then take an internal flight down to Ushuaia (which I think is pronounced Oo-shwy-ah). The timings of the internal flights mean that I'm probably going to have to do an overnight in Buenos Aries. In normal times I'd see that as a fantastic opportunity to see a new city (and try some proper argentine tango!) but with the Covid situation it feels more like a hazard. The many unknowns around the Omicron variant mean that good insurance is also going to be vital and so trying to make sure that I have a policy that covers as many different eventualities as I can think of in terms of Covid (if I get ill, if the family get ill, if travel advice is such that I can't travel but the Expedition goes ahead...etc).

I've also been working out details with work. As I said previously, the trip has come about via my employer, Origami, and as part of it they are providing some sponsorship for me - both financial in terms of contribution to the Expedition fee and paid leave, and also support for the fundraising process. In return I'm looking forward to being able to share the things I learn with colleagues and help raise Origami's profile. I've had a few discussions just ironing out some of the details but that seems to be coming together. Having posted about the trip on Facebook I've had a number of lovely friends and family offer to donate so much of my focus has been trying to set up a crowd funding effort to enable that. They say that a video is a good addition to that, so following a (possibly throw away!) suggestion from someone at work I've roped in L to help - teaser screenshot below! I'm hoping to make that live next week so you'll be able to view it in all its glory then!



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page